About The Institute

The Sri Lanka Insurance Institute is the only educational body for those in the local insurance field. It was established in 1981 to enhance professionalism in the practice of insurance in Sri Lanka and develop the necessary human resources in insurance and other related financial services. Over the years the institute has been governed by various councils and now comprises of 11 dynamic individuals from the field of insurance. The institute was established to fulfill the need to create an autonomous educational body devoted to enhancing the standards of the insurance field in Sri Lanka.

The institute conducts examinations for the Chartered Insurance Institute and Insurance Institute of India in addition to conducting local examinations.

The certificate, Diploma and Associate examinations are held for The Chartered Insurance Institute and Licentiate, Associate and Fellowship examinations for the Indian Insurance Institute. Local examinations held for the award of certificates are namely Insurance Foundation Certificate and Diploma in Insurance.

At the institute we also conduct examinations on behalf of the local governing body which is the Insurance Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka (IRCSL), according to the standards set out by them to ensure that proper standards are maintained in the local industry in the area of sales.

We currently have a membership base of around 3500 approximately, which includes Honorary members, Ordinary members and Registered members.


Standing (L-R)
Mrs. Kusum Thenuwara, (Council Member)
Mr. Chandima Sumanathunga, (Council Member)
Mr. Indika Ariyaratne (Council Member)
Mr. Pathum Ratnayake (Council Member)
Mr. Harith Perera (Council Member)
Mrs. Lachini Chithrasena (Council Member)

Seated (L-R)
Mr. Saman Kumara (Treasurer)
Mr. Anushka Jayasinghe (Secretary)
Mr. Mahendra Wilegoda (President)
Mr. Sameera Dharmasena (Vice President)
Ms. Kaumalee Amaradiwakara (Asst. Secretary)

Mr Udeni Kiridena


Mahendra Wilegoda


Sameera Dharmasena

Vice President

Anushka Jayasinghe


Kaumalee Amaradiwakara

Asst. Secretary

Saman Kumara


Kusum Thenuwara

Council Member

Lachini Chithrasena

Council Member

Chandima Sumanathunga

Council Member

Pathum Ratnayake

Council Member

A K I K Ariyaratne

Council Member

E M Harith Perera

Council Member


Udeni Kiridena